Puella Magi Madoka Magica – 12

This is the Church of Madoka!

I’m…outta words. So I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

So ultimately Madoka Magica goes for a bittersweet ending, with Madoka trolling Kyuubey with that wish she made.

Damn, Madoka’s good.

Madoka’s on her way to becoming god.

Feels good to see Kyuubey getting trolled back after all that trolling he’s done.

Mami’s back!

Om nom nom, I'm eating a cheesecake without a fork.

And Kyouko’s back, too!

Oh, but that was an alternate timeline (I presume) shown for…some reason.

Apparently Cleopatra was a Puella Magi.

As was Joan of Arc (Jeanne d’Arc).

Holy shi---

That’s the size of Madoka’s Soul Gem. Mighty big, I know.

And since hope given out = despair taken in, Madoka now has to shoulder all the despair in the world from Puella Magi. Which explains the size of her Soul Gem.

Madoka has ascended to being a god-like entity!

And Madoka’s now omniscient, yeah!

Something just irks me about this screencap, I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s Kyousuke. Maybe it’s Hitomi. Or maybe it’s both.

Turns out that Sayaka still died in the end, but this time for a more noble cause: to ensure that Kyousuke’s concert goes uninterrupted.

Now Sayaka’s death/disappearance hits me harder than the last time where she just emo-ed and turned into a witch. Might be because this time Kyouko doesn’t sacrifice her life to save Sayaka.

Homura with Madoka’s ribbon! Looks kinda weird, but shows that she still remembers Madoka!

Sadly Madoka’s awesome mom didn’t remember her. ;_;

It’s seriously kinda saddening how Madoka’s mom doesn’t remember her own daughter. T.T

So now instead of witches, Puella Magi now have to fight demons that materialize from the curses and despair of the world. Oh well, beats fighting a witch (and turning into one).

Am I happy with this bittersweet ending? Well, I guess I wouldn’t say I dislike it, but I was hoping for a darker ending. But still, I’m kinda pleased with the ending and I wanna focus more on AnoHana and Hanasaku Iroha, so I’ll leave it as such.

I finally get why SHAFT decided to air this on Good Friday. The ending so obviously parallels Jesus dying for our sins, with Madoka “dying” for the despair of the Puella Magi. Nicely played, SHAFT.

And if anyone needs more explanation, you can refer to this post written by uh…a person, I guess? Personally I find that it explains pretty much everything in the last episode.

Okay, I’m really outta words already, so I’ll just do a conclusion:

Final thoughts

Enjoyed: Definitely.
Rating: 9/10 (10/10 for story, and 8/10 for awesome music)
Rewatch value: Possibly, although I’ll skip the first parts and watch the dark parts.

Favorite character: Kyouko! Aipon ftw.
Favorite episode: Last episode.
Favorite scene: Madoka trolling Kyuubey with that wish. And turning into a god-like entity.

Okay, with Madoka Magica wrapped up, I guess I’ll go focus on AnoHana and Hanasaku Iroha…

Leave a Reply

