That translation project: hide and seek

Second song for my translation project! This time, hide and seek by Kanae Ito! :D

Romaji

Title: hide and seek
Artist: Ito Kanae

mijikai maegami warau no wa
itsumono kimi no home kotoba
kimi no konomi kamigata ni
shizen to awasete kami wo kiru

kimi ni homete hoshii kedo
amai kotoba ha hazukashii
kono kyori ga tanoshiku mo ate
kono kyori ga chotto fuan da na

hontou no kimochi oshiete yo

yoru ni nattara dete oide
kakurenbo wa yamete yeah
watashi wa itsumo kimini itsumo
daisuki datte iujyanai
iujyanai

watashi no ryouri taberu toki
nan demo kimi wa oishii tte
kimi no okonomi koi aji ni
shizen to awasete ryourisuru

hontou no kimochi oshiete yo

yoru ni nattara dete oide
kakurenbo wa yamete yeah
watashi wa itsumo kimi no fuku wa
SENSU ga nai to iujyanai
iujyanai

naimono nedari wo kurikaeshi
sukoshi zutsu wakaru
naimono nedari wo kurikaeshi
ai to susumu mono

yoru ni nattara dete oide
kakurenbo wa yamete yeah
watashi wa itsumo kimi no fuku wa
SENSU ga nai to iujyanai

yoru ni nattara dete oide
kakurenbo wa yamete yeah
watashi wa itsumo kimi ni itsumo
daisuki date iujyanai
iujyanai

iujyanai

Kanji

タイトル:hide and seek
歌手:伊藤かな恵

短い前髪 笑うのは
いつもの君の 褒め言葉
君の好みの髪型に
自然と合わせて 髪を切る

君に褒めて欲しいけど
甘い言葉は 恥ずかしい?
この距離が楽しくもあって
この距離がちょっと不安だな

本当の気持ち 教えてよ

夜になったら出ておいで
かくれんぼはやめて yeah
私はいつも 君にいつも
大好きだって言うじゃない?
言うじゃない?

私の料理 食べる時
何でも君は 「美味しい」って
君の好みの濃い味に
自然と合わせて料理する

本当の気持ち 教えてよ

夜になったら出ておいで
かくれんぼはやめて yeah
私はいつも 君の服は
センスがないと言うじゃない?
言うじゃない?

ないものねだりを繰り返し
少しずつ解る
ないものねだりを繰り返し
愛とは進むもの

夜になったら出ておいで
かくれんぼはやめて yeah
私はいつも 君の服は
センスがないと言うじゃない?

夜になったら出ておいで
かくれんぼはやめて yeah
私はいつも 君にいつも
大好きだって言うじゃない?
言うじゃない?

言うじゃない?

English

Title: hide and seek
Artist: Kanae Ito

Laughing at my short bangs is the way you usually praise me.
Naturally, I cut hair to suit the hairstyle you like.

I want to be praised by you but, are sweet words embarrassing?
This distance also feels enjoyable but, it makes me feel slightly anxious.

Tell me your real feelings.
Come out of hiding after night falls, stop the hide-and-seek, yeah.
Don’t I always tell you that I always like you?
Don’t I?

When you eat my cooking, you always say that it’s delicious.
Naturally, I cook food to suit the strong taste you like.

Tell me your real feelings.

Come out of hiding after night falls, stop the hide-and-seek, yeah.
Don’t I always tell you that you have no dress sense?
Don’t I?

I keep asking for too much but, understanding a little, bit by bit.
Through these wishes that, love is something that grows.

Come out of hiding after night falls, stop the hide-and-seek, yeah.
Don’t I always tell you that you have no dress sense?
Come out of hiding after night falls, stop the hide-and-seek, yeah.
Don’t I always tell you that I always like you?

Don’t I?

Second song I’m doing, it wasn’t that hard overall, except for the bridge. Initially had troubles translating “言うじゃない” because I thought it to be a single phrase LOL. Turned out that it was 言う + じゃない, where じゃない is a question tag. Fail pretty much orz.

Also, had some problems with the bridge, as mentioned earlier. Did not translate the second verse of “ないものねだりを繰り返し” directly.

ないものねだりを繰り返し – Keep asking for too much
少しずつ解る – Understanding a little, bit by bit
ないものねだりを繰り返し – Keep asking for too much
愛とは進むもの – Love is something that grows

So doing a bit of English synthesis, that’s how I got the translation. The translation isn’t really perfect, if there’re other ways to translate this, I do welcome your views.

Feel free to point out any translation errors.

Also, here’s the song on YouTube~ (EDIT: The full song’s been removed, I could only find the CM on Youtube. Er, sorry. D:]

One thought on “That translation project: hide and seek

Leave a Reply

