Goodbye 2011, Hello 2012!

Happy New Year to everyone! New year, new hope, and new expectations!

Here’s to the first post of the new year!

As much as I’d like to say goodbye to 2011 however, I suppose I have to review 2011 so that I can improve on myself in 2012!

Do bear with me, then~

Life and events

Come to think of it, 2011 wasn’t really a good year for me. Experienced lots of failures. Some failures could’ve been avoided if I’d actually learnt from my previous mistakes. Disappointed in that area, so I’ll work on it in 2012.

Made lots of mistakes, especially in the area of school. Didn’t really put in effort the whole year, so it came as no surprise when I messed up my exams big time. As a result I’m unable to take the honor modules I wanted to take, and get into a good class as I wished. All’s not lost, however. I still stand a chance at appealing for Bio honors if I do well in 2012, so that’s something I’ll be working on for the new year. Can’t afford to mess up this time.

And then there was the 311 Japan earthquake. It didn’t affect me directly, but then it stimulated some thoughts. The earthquake and tsunami caused much devastation, and the scale just shocked me. I was really touched by how countries all chipped in to help Japan tide over the crisis, but at the same time, also pretty disappointed that there were people who said mean things like the earthquake being karma for the Pearl Harbour incident back in WWII.

Locally, there were much incidents as well. Recently there was the SMRT saga (which convinces me that taking bus is the way to go), and then there’s the Aaron Tan thing (which I thought was kinda retarded but oh well).

More positively, there was AFA this year as well, which was a really big event, made me really happy during the two days I went there. The concert was amazing, the stage events just blew me off, and I managed to get some pretty nice stuff there. Loved every part of it, will be looking forward to it next year. If it doesn’t clash with my exchange program to Japan. Which I hope will not be the case.

On a smaller scale, there was STGCC, where I got two awesome autographs of Kishida Mel for my KamiMemo novels. Then there was Shizuka Ito’s live dubbing, whooooh~

Speaking of Japanese stuff, I probably will need to work harder in learning Japanese next year, since the school doesn’t offer Japanese classes for my level anymore. Hopefully I’ll be able to take N2 and pass it by the end of next year!

There’s probably much more to review in my life for 2011, but I don’t think I can list them all here right now.

For now, I’ll try to get rid of my bad habit of procrastination, and put in more effort in my studies, I guess.

Anime

What’s my life without anime? This blog is probably 70% anime-related, so how could I review 2011 without an anime review?

I won’t be making the “Top animes of the year” post here, because I’ve already done it here already.

Instead, I’ll just list the animes I’ve watched this year in alphabetical order, as well as a one or two-line comment regarding it (since obviously I can’t possibly write a whole paragraph per anime I watch :<)

* indicates animes which I’ve dropped, and ^ indicates animes which I’m still currently watching

30-sai no Hoken Taiku*: Doesn’t get funny after a while. Probably wasn’t to begin with.
A-Channel^: If only K-ON! had as many insert songs as A-Channel had. Also, I need to finish this series.
AnoHana: Poor Menma. Some forced drama, but still awesome.
Ao no Exorcist^: I still don’t know whether to continue watching or drop it.
BakaTest Ni!^: Yay more stupidity! Yay more jokes!
Beelzebub^: Now watching only for Aoi Kunieda (and Aki-chan’s voice). <3
Ben-to^: I hope the same situation doesn’t happen to my local supermarket.
BokuTomo: NIKUUUUUUUU. Also, Kobato HNGGGGGGG!
[C] The Money of Soul and Possibility: Eh, ending was kinda meh. And, Singapore got wiped out. ;_;
C³ -CubexCursedxCurious-: Lolis voiced by Yukarin and Ogura Yui! Also, Iinchou-san!
Chihayafuru^: Suddenly karuta sounds interesting.
Dantalian no Shoka*: Books can attack you.
Deadman Wonderland*: Gladiators!
Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko: I CAN FLY, Itoko…
Dog Days: Ehhhhhhhhhh ending, why you like that? But Cinque and his fancy acrobatics, along with tsundere Eclair was just <3.
Dragon Crisis: Why did I even finish this series?
Fate/Zero: Awesome anime (with epic music and animation) is awesome, but A THREE MONTH WAIT IS A LONG TIME.
Fractale: So bad it’s funny.
Freezing: HURR Noto Mamiko as a big-chested character HURR.
GOSICK: Hearing Aoi-chan’s voice was the only thing that drove me to complete the series.
Guilty Crown: I don’t know why they say this is bad.
Hanasaku Iroha: YAY AKI-CHAN YAY KANAE ITO YAY NAKO BOO JIROUMARU
Hidan no Aria: What. the. hell. did. I. just. watch.
Hourou Musuko^: Provides a mature viewpoint on gender issues.
Hoshizora e Kakaru Hashi*: Didn’t have time to continue, can’t be bothered now.
HUNTERXHUNTER*: Got bored after the first episode.
Ikoku Meiro no Croisee: Yune’s such a darling.
Infinite Stratos: Kana-tan makes the best France ambassador ever.
Itsuka no Tenma Kuro-Usagi*: Couldn’t be bothered to continue.
KamiNomi 2: Third season when?
Kamisama Dolls*: Gave it four episodes to impress me with but didn’t work out in the end.
Kami-sama no Memo-chou: I love my NEET detective.
Kore ha Zombie Desu ka?: Eucliwood’s possibly the most moe necromancer ever.
Kimi ni Todoke 2: Glad to see that Sawako and Kazehaya are together.
Kimi to Boku: Love this show forever, makes me think about my own high school life as well.
Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon: I still don’t understand what’s going on, but I LOVE IT STILL.
Last Exile: Ginyoku no Fam: Fam’s going to steal ships for Millia! She’s stolen my heart already though!
Lotte no Omocha!: Mercelida’s a hot and awesome mom.
Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica: God-tier anime. Helps that Madoka’s a god as well.
Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!!: Oh god the sex jokes are (Y), the “Y” stands for Yamato.
Maken-Ki!*: Useless male lead that doesn’t impress me after two episodes.
Manyuu Hikenchou*: Nice seiyuu cast with Aki-chan and Mina-chan in it but sorry, don’t like seeing ninjas going around stealing breasts and comparing their sizes.
Mashiro-Iro Symphony^: I heard it’s good, so I’m working on finishing it.
Mawaru Penguindrum: Lots of plot twists but, WHY THAT ENDING WHY.
Mayo Chiki!: Yum Subaru yum.
Mirai Nikki: Yuno’s more than your average stalker.
Nekogami Yaoyorozu*: Doesn’t get funny after a while, but at least the seiyuu cast’s great!
Nichijou: Mio-chan’s amazing, Yuuko’s funny and Mai-chan’s such a troll.
NO.6*: STOP THE YAOI HINTING PLEASE.
Ore-tachi ni Tsubasa wa nai*: I don’t even know what’s going on.
OniiZen!!: KitaEri as the incestuous imouto’s awesome, along with Marina Inoue as the osananajimi for the lulz.
Persona 4*: HEY THIS LOOKS LIKE POKEMON.
Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle*: The only thing I liked about this anime was the OP by May’N.
R-15*: What is this I don’t even…want to continue watching it.
Rio – Rainbow Gate*: Hax luck is hax.
Ro-Kyu-Bu!: Lolis playing basketball’s such candy to my eyes. Also, Aoi’s <3.
Sacred Seven*: Megaman?
Shakugan no Shana III (Final)^: Yuuji isn’t useless anymore. He’s now part of the villains’ group while trying to rape Shana.
Shinryaku!? Ika Musume^: Jokes get old after a while, but hey at least Ika Musume’s cute!
Sofuteni*: Tsumasakidachi!
SKET Dance*: Got bored of it after a few episodes.
STEINS;GATE: Tuturu~
Tamayura ~hitotose~^: So relaxing…I could fall asleep whilst watching this.
THE IDOLM@STER^: IDOLS!
UN-GO: WTH’S WITH ALL THAT MINDFUCK.
Usagi Drop: Rin so cute! Second season when?
Working’!!: As amazing as the first season. Poplar <3 forever.
Yumekui Merry: Liked it…until I saw the ending.
Yuru Yuri: Chitose has so much blood in her body ww.

Watched: 74
Never started: 31

Interesting year for anime this year. Got much more into the anime scene this year, watching a lot more. Maybe I’ll watch more next year, who knows?

So I guess that kinda concludes my review for the year. I should have much more to work on next year, but let’s keep it up!

For now, enjoy the year ahead!

Leave a Reply

