Onii-chan Dakedo Ai Sae Areba Kankeinai yo ne! – 01

Yes, how the heck did it end up like this?!

Okay, I won’t deny this. I’m quite annoyed. This anime adaptation’s pissing the hell outta me.

How did they manage to screw the first episode up so badly?

Having read the first three chapters (prologue + first two chapters) of the light novel, I kinda expected the anime to cover those three chapters because well, they’re quite important for explaining the backstory.

But no, not only did they mix up the events of the first three chapters, they also skipped Akiko’s backstory which explained what happened in those six years she was separated from Akito. The conversation between Akito and his friend was also left out, which I thought would’ve provided some insight for the viewers regarding Akiko’s brocon feelings.

I’m not really against mixing up the events, but the way it was done in the anime made it so rushed.

Now for the most important part.

They jumped one and a half volumes. Yes, they skipped the introductions of Nikaido, Anastasia and Ginbe, and jumped straight to the cohabitation part, which only takes place in the third volume (I think). This way, we don’t know who those three are. We don’t even know why they’re cohabiting with the Himenokouji siblings. Goddammit, Silver Link, why you make such a bad adaptation?

Also, Akiko’s voice is kinda annoying me out too. Not sure if it’s because of the terrible adaptation.

I suppose the episode was rather funny though (Anastasia ftw) , but the fact that the adaptation was so badly done really killed it for me.

A rare rant post, indeed. I haven’t ranted on an anime episode in ages. I couldn’t resist this time though, because I had quite some expectations for OniiAi, being the first light novel I’ve read to get an anime adaptation. Really didn’t expect it to be this terrible though. I’m disappoint, Silver Link, I’m disappoint.

I can only hope that they somehow rectify all the loopholes by having flashbacks to explain everything. I’m not really a fan of flashbacks, but it’s better than leaving things unexplained. Hopefully episode 2 would be better.

In any case, I suppose I should stop now, haha. I must sound really bitchy now. :<

Welp, I’m sorry. D:

3 thoughts on “Onii-chan Dakedo Ai Sae Areba Kankeinai yo ne! – 01

  1. Alyson

    I was trying to find your email address here but couldn’t locate it. I literally browsed everywhere. Can you please contact me at: alyson[at]ftframes.com
    It is regarding an Anime related writing opportunity!

    This is not a spam message by the way, although it might appear like it. Also if you could be kind, please remove this message once you have seen it so I don’t get emails by randomers.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Onii-chan Dakedo Ai Sae Areba Kankeinai yo ne! – 02 | my story, your beats!

Leave a Reply

