Anime Review 2012: Top 12 animes of the year

iM@S

Merry (belated) Christmas! And soon it’ll be new year! It’s that time of the year again! Time for a year end review!

It looks like kiddtic’s running this year’s ACAA again (if you don’t what that is, that stands for the AniBloggers Choice Anime Awards), so I’ll be listing the top 12 animes of the year in this post, from Winter 2011 to Fall 2012, just like last year!

Alright alright, I should probably cut to the chase, so let’s go through the list, starting from #12!

Top 12 animes of 2012

#12: Onii-chan Dakedo Ai Sae Areba Kankeinai yo ne!

OniiAi

“My brother complex is a part of my identity!”

A sister gets reunited with her older (though not by much) brother after a few years of separation. The perfect setting for a brocon anime? OH SURE.

At the bottom of the list, OniiAi gets the position for being really funny and wacky. Having read part of the first novel, I was rather disappointed when they skipped a number of scenes in the first episode, but ever since the second episode this anime has been nothing short of entertaining.

It may also be a harem anime, but that doesn’t mean it’s full of those annoying characters trying to vie over the male lead. The characters in the show are all really lovable, and seeing the girls come up with novel ways to get Akito (the male lead) look at them in a different way and compete among themselves was really amusing.

OniiAi does get #12 in this list for the humorous display of incest but remember, guys.

Don’t try this with your siblings, please.

#11: Ano Natsu de Matteru

Ano Natsu de Matteru

“The movie is incomplete. The last scene is up to you.”

So last year we had AnoHana in #11, this year we have AnoNatsu in #11 (I swear I’m not doing this on purpose)!

Ano Natsu de Matteru is actually rather similar to AnoHana, it’s quite the touching anime, which’s earned it its #11 spot in this list.

One thing I exceptionally like about Ano Natsu de Matteru is the interactions between the character. The love triangle (actually, I think there’re more than three sides involved here, but whatever) in the story is quite gripping and real, and I’m sure we’ll be able to empathize with at least one of the characters.

The development of the main characters are also spaced out rather evenly, ensuring that each of the main characters get their chance to show their character development.

One thing I didn’t like though, about this anime, was the dragging out of the relationship between Kaito and Ichika. It seems that they both like each other early on in the show, but they do not confess to each other for various reasons, and this somehow drags for more than half of the show. I personally found this a bit annoying, but maybe it’s just me.

In any case, Lemon-senpai’s still the best.

#10: Inu x Boku SS

Inu x Boku SS

“Long have I anticipated the day that I could meet you in person, Ririchiyo-sama.”

This year’s #10 might or might not come as a surprise to some of you. But nevertheless, it very well earns its spot on the list this year.

Inu x Boku SS is about the relationship between Ririchiyo, a young lady with a sharp tongue, and her Secret Service agent (hence SS), Soushi. There’s a fair amount of humor in the anime, as provided by many characters in the show (hell yes, Karuta!), but there’s also a fair amount of drama which leaves some rather thought-provoking reflections behind (at least, for me it did).

The delicate relationship shown between Ririchiyo and Soushi is what makes me like this anime so much, thus earning its #10 spot this year.

Besides, Karuta’s so cute! Kana-tannnnnnn!

#9: Chihayafuru

Chihayafuru

“Let’s play karuta!”

Chihayafuru earned the #12 spot on the list last year, and this year it earns the #9 spot.

Having completed the anime, I can now say that Chihayafuru really is an amazing anime. Karuta may seem boring, but it’s actually rather intense.

I find it rather amazing how the anime was able to portray karuta in such a way that seemed like it was a competitive and intense game, despite the premise of the game itself being rather simple.

While the strongest players in the series do have some pretty unbelievable skills, this is not so much attributed to talent as it is to love for the game itself. Talent is still important though, but it seems like the series is focusing on the love for the game as a driving force to achieve much greater heights, which I thought was good.

Another thing which I thought was good was the unyielding spirits of many characters in the series, never giving up even if they were about to lose. The team spirit shown with Chihaya and her group was also incredible, and it’s moved me to tears quite a few times (okay, maybe not to that extent, but you get the idea).

The series does take it a bit slow though, for a 25-episode series, so if you have the patience for it, I’d definitely recommend Chihayafuru.

Plus, a second season’s going to air starting from next month (yay Chihayafuru S2!), so what’re you waiting for?

#8: Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

“It was a beautiful spring day when I received my first confession of love in my life.”

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun gets #8 on this list for being realistic and close to home. This anime is adapted from a shoujo manga, but that doesn’t mean that it’s filled with love rivals and whatnot trying to constantly wedge between the two main characters. Instead, the things that get between the two are more realistic issues, such as academics, etc (hang on, I’m pretty sure that’s the only thing between Shizuku and Haru, but whatever).

In any case, Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun provides a rather realistic uptake on the topic of teenage love, and the characters are quite interesting as well. The anime’s really beautiful at times.

The ending does leave much to be desired though (does this mean a second season is coming? :D), so that makes it slide down from the next position, which is…

#7: Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo

Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo

This is Sakurasou. Where all the problem children of Suimei University of the Arts’ Senior High go. In other words, it’s a hangout for weirdos!

Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo is quite an interesting mix. While it can be funny and crazy at times, there’s also plenty of drama to go about, too. The issues presented in the drama are more often than not rather realistic, although this does not apply to everyone.

I particularly liked how Sorata decides to give his best in Sakurasou even though the genii in Sakurasou makes him feel inferior sometimes. It makes me think about my own life as well, since I’m surrounded by many people who do things much better than me.

Well, it’s thought-provoking, entertaining at the same time, has great music and a great seiyuu cast as well so, why not? #7 on this list.

#6: Kimi to Boku 2

Kimi to Boku 2

“We still can’t imagine our futures or foresee what they hold, yet we’ll all change slowly but surely.”

Although Kimi to Boku didn’t make it to this list last year, this year it does, and at #6 nonetheless!

Kimi to Boku is actually a more slice-of-life-ish kind of anime. The anime isn’t very fast-paced (there’s not much story in slice-of-life animes anyway), with each episode focusing on one or two central events, but that does not mean it’s boring and slow. It does have comedy at times but it’s not those slice-of-life shows where gags are shown every few minutes like in a 4-koma manga. Every episode is rather heartwarming and leaves behind a message to take away.

It’s really touching to see the lives and characters of these five boys progress and develop, so I’ll really recommend giving this a try if you haven’t already.

#5: Jinrui wa Suitashimashita

Jinrui wa Suitaishimashita

“I feel like a tea party’s always going on in my mind.”

At #5 stands Jinrui wa Suitaishimashita. This, is one freaking amazing show. I started watching this with absolutely no expectations of it at all, and it just blew me away.

Humor is everywhere, but it doesn’t get repetitive and boring. Every episode is really entertaining.

Besides, the fairies are really cute (and their comments are really blunt and funny) so yes, give this a try. You won’t regret it.

#4: Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai!

Chu2Koi

“Blast reality. Burst it into shreds. Banishment. This. World!”

Chu2Koi gets #4 on this list! *applause*

In short, this anime’s made by KyoAni, has amazing art and characters, so yes it gets #4 on this list.

Actually, the real reason is that I really like the seiyuu cast for the series, but shhhhhh pretend you didn’t read this sentence.

Look, I’ve even made an entire post on why you should watch the series, so why not?

Moving on to the top 3! *drumroll*

#3: Kokoro Connect

Kokoro Connect

Let me tell you why this is on #3: Aki Toyosaki’s voicing Nagase Iori in this show.

Okay, just kidding. There’s more to Kokoro Connect than this.

Kokoro Connect is about a group of highschoolers being thrown into several difficult situations, and the methods they undertake to clear the situations. In the process they find out more about the secrets and real personalities of the people in the group, as well as they themselves.

I’m not that good with words, so perhaps my description of the story sounds a bit unexciting. I can ensure you though, that the show’s really gripping at times, and twists often occur unexpectedly.

Music’s really good as well, and the seiyuu cast…is wonderful. Look, this’ Aki-chan we’re talking about here. There’s Sawashiro Miyuki and Kanemoto Hisako, too!

Too bad there’s the bullying incident earlier this year which’s made some people hate on the series, but that’s a separate matter already.

#2: Fate/Zero

FateZero

“Emiya Kiritsugu… Who are you?”

Fate/Zero gets #2 this time! It got first last year, and this year it gets second! This doesn’t mean that Fate/Zero got worse or anything (in fact it got even better), because #1 and #2 are pretty much close in each other.

Basically…yadayada I’ll end up repeating what I said last year. The animation’s still fluid, and the second half of the second broadcast after the one-season break was just gripping and exciting.

The battles are just plain epic. I’ve said this last year, and I’ll do the same this year. Animation’s fluid, battles are freaking damn epic. Loved the fights towards the end of the series, especially.

OP/ED’s done by Kalafina and Haruna Luna respectively for the second “season”, and if you thought the OP/EDs for the first thirteen episodes were good, these ones are even better.

A high-quality production, and definitely worth every bit of the time to watch.

And finally…

#1: Hyouka

Hyouka - 02

“Watashi…Kininarimasu!”

Hyouka gets #1 anime of the year! Doesn’t really mean it’s better than Fate/Zero or anything, I thought they were about the same and really had a hard time choosing between the two, but I still went with Hyouka in the end.

IT’S DEFINITELY NOT BECAUSE SATOU SATOMI’S VOICING ERU WHO’S ALSO CUTE AND LOVABLE OKAY.

This anime and the mysteries throughout the anime kept me fully entertained, and although the mysteries weren’t that good at the beginning, I thought it got really good as it progressed.

Character development is amazing too, the four main characters each get a fair bit of character development, with some side characters getting theirs as well.

Speaking of characters, each of the main characters are absolutely lovable. COME ON, WHO DOESN’T LOVE ERU. OR HOUTAROU. OR MAYAKA. OR SATOSHI (who can be a douchebag at times but still!).

The music’s great as well, the OP/EDs were quite catchy this time! Yasashisa no Riyuu! :D

Besides, it’s KyoAni. Definitely one of the best.

SO YES THAT’S IT.

Top 12 animes, done. Now, we have a few candidates which didn’t quite get in but still worth a notable mention.

Animes that almost made it into the list

Koi to Senkyo to Choco: Another anime which exceeded my expectations. Quite the underdog for the Summer season. Started off quite slow but it got really exciting as it progressed. I didn’t know high school elections could be this dark ww. I can’t really put into words why I think it’s that good but I just had a feeling. It feels like a great anime to marathon in a day though.

Sakamichi no Apollon: Quite a heartwarming anime about friends who play jazz together. It features some really good jazz and the story’s quite good, too. It had a good starting but somehow towards the end I found the story a bit ridiculous and the ending wasn’t really that good for me anymore. But still, worth a mention because I found the anime quite good as a whole.

Tari Tari: An anime about singing. The drama gets rather touching at times, and the music’s good. Seiyuu cast’s amazing too. With Ayahi Takagaki, Asami Seto and Saori Hayami voicing the three female main characters, the choral music sounded really epic. The story is somewhat lacking at times though, so it misses a spot in the list. But I STILL WANT A S2 FOR MOAR SAWA PLEASE.

Yuru Yuri S2: MOAR YURU YURI! I was thinking about putting it in for this year’s list, but the first few episodes really weren’t that good (I thought the first season was better), so I took it out. Well, it’s still a good anime though, and the last few episodes were pretty damn good, so uh. CAN WE HAVE A S3? :D

Okay, post’s finally done. I hope I’m not late with this. Couldn’t really write well, I’m not good with words and it’s already past 2 am. Gee, I seem to do my ACAA posts really late. xD

8 thoughts on “Anime Review 2012: Top 12 animes of the year

  1. animeguardians

    Lol, I found Chitanda to be the most annoying character of the year, without a doubt. But I do like your list.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: AniBloggers Choice Anime Awards 2012: Winners | Kidds' Anime Blog

  3. Albertina

    Good day! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick
    shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the
    same topics? Thanks a ton!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

