The Wheel of Seiyuu #22: 50 questions for Taneda Risa

Gotta love that pair of red megane!

Gotta love that pair of red megane!

Recently, there’s been a “Wheel of Seiyuu” series where various seiyuu (voice actors) are interviewed, for a total of 50 questions. It’s been going on for quite some time (there are 22 sets of interviews as of the date of posting), so it’s not something new. Still, I thought it might be interesting to translate these interviews, so I started on this translation project with Sleepy from Nabe!!. It’s going to take quite a while to translate all of them, so we’re going to translate them one by one, in no particular order. It’s going to be a bit messy, but hopefully it’ll get sorted out in due time!

In any case, we’ll start from the latest translation (yes, that’s #22 for you), from Taneda Risa! Just a bit of background for those seeing this name for the first time, she’s a relatively new seiyuu, having got her first main role as Watanabe Saki in Shinsekai Yori just two years ago. Since then, she’s gone on to voice characters such as Komichi Aya from Kiniro Mosaic (AYAYA!!), Kuriyama Mirai from Kyoukai no Kanata  and Himeragi Yukina from Strike The Blood. I personally like her voice and vocal range a lot, so I’m looking forward to seeing her take up more roles from now on.

Now that you know a bit more about Tane-chan, let’s get down to the interview!


1. Please tell us why you decided to become a seiyuu.
I like to draw a lot, so originally I was aiming for a path to the arts sector. I got to know about this dubbing job through a seiyuu radio program I was listening to in middle school, and started to develop an interest in dubbing as a form of expression. This formed a large part of my inspiration to become a seiyuu.

It so happens that there was this fantasy work I was really into then, which made me think “I want to be casted in this!”, and that became another one of my points of inspiration.

2. What was your first anime role?
It was in this short animation titled “Sakura no Ondo”, where I played the role of a narration coming out from a television set.

3. Among the many roles you have done so far, is there any character which leaves behind a particularly strong impression?
That would be Watanabe Saki from “Shinsekai Yori” (From the New World). She was my first main role, and so I have a particularly strong emotional attachment to her. I progressed along the series along with her, and there were many aspects in which we grew. It is a work which touches me to tears even when I watch it now.

4. Please tell us some of the ways in which the characters you are voicing now are similar to yourself.
I have been told from time to time that I resemble those characters who cannot remain calm no matter what.

5. Please tell us one of the more memorable scenes you have done so far.
During scenes such as farewells or the series’ ending, I always have to hold back my tears while doing the dubbing, and that leaves behind a very strong impression.

6. Please tell us about any incidents of failure or memorable conversations while in the recording studio.
It was during a scene which involved a character called “Mirai Kuriyama” from “Kyoukai no Kanata”. There was a scene in which she became hungry, and it so happened that my stomach rumbled at the same time. “I don’t need any sound effects!” I said, laughing while taking notice. And even after that my stomach was rumbling when I was in various places, and I wanted to tell off my stomach for that…

7. Is there any seiyuu which you look upon as a rival or a source of inspiration?
The industry is full of seniors whom I respect, whether as their job as voice actors or as their personal selves. When I see and feel the passion with which the seniors act with, I tell myself “I have to work harder!”, and this becomes a motivation for me.

8. What do you think you would have become if you had not become a seiyuu?
A job related to the arts sector perhaps, or maybe a job as a normal OL (office lady).

9. What is the toughest part about being a seiyuu?
That has to be the prevention of colds and care for throats! This is a job in which vocal cords are constantly being used, so we have to take note of our living habits in order to stay healthy. But even so, there are times when we catch a cold, and it gets very tense when it starts to spread around…

10. On the other hand, what is the most satisfying part about being a seiyuu?
When you receive thoughts and feedback about the work you yourself are involved in! Knowing that the production and the characters’ feelings were able to reach the hearts of someone is the biggest satisfaction you can get. When I get told “It was great that you were the one doing the voicing”, I get touched from the bottom of my heart, and feel glad that I had become a seiyuu.

11. Do you love singing? Up till now, what is the strongest impression you have about singing?
I am not that good at singing in front of people but, I love singing a lot! The most memorable singing-related job was humming an acapella while everyone was watching at the recording studio. My heart got trained very well thanks to that (laughs).

12. In the radio programs you have been in, were there any things sent in that left behind an impression?
In this part where we have viewers send in new and novel items, there’s something surprising every week! Recently, the novelty item which left the biggest impression was strawberry curry.

TL note: The word used here for “novel” is “shinshu”, which also happens to be the name of the radio program which Tane-chan co-hosts with another seiyuu Nitta Emi (Emitsun!). A pun here, perhaps? w

13. During an act, is there anything which you take particular note about?
While taking note of the story and the flow of the conversation, I also pay attention to make sure that I express the feelings of the emotionally-filled characters as they are. It is indeed a case of “Don’t think about it, feel it instead!”.

14. What is the role in which you are most proficient at?
It feels like I have voiced many girls who are active and have strong personalities. I myself enjoy voicing lively girls as well.

15. Please tell us your goals and dreams as a seiyuu.
I think I would like to be someone who constantly strives for progress. Without feeling any bounds within voice acting, I have been taking up roles eagerly. I will fire myself up more and work harder from now on!

16. Please give a word of advice to the people aspiring to be seiyuu.
Through many troubles, smiles, thinking and fun, please give your all into voice acting! Let’s work hard together!

17. Apart from the works you have been involved in, are there any other anime which you frequently watch?
I love the “Cosmic Baton Girl Comet-san☆”, “Prince of Tennis” and “Sailor Moon” series a lot! Even up till now, I re-watch these series from time to time.

18. Adding on to the previous question, what would be the role you would like to play (i.e. the role you yearn for)?
Even up till now, I have always wanted to voice a male character from a shonen manga!

19. As a viewer, what type of anime do you like?
I particularly like plots with serious developments. If there’s a SF (Science Fiction) factor within the plot, that would add on further to the tension.

20. What kind of kid were you when you were a child?
I was like a boy when I was a child, in both appearance and personality! Even now it doesn’t feel like I have grown much inside (laughs)

21. Please tell us the television programs you frequently watch.
I like travel shows as well as gourmet shows! I also often watch shows which feature the places of interest, local personalities and stories of countries all over the world. Also, I like medical and mystery drama.

22. Please tell us the book which you like most.
I like manga a lot, so you won’t be able to take a single one from me…! The one manga I have been particularly into recently is this manga titled “Machi de Uwasa no Tengu no Ko” (The Rumored Tengu’s Child in the Town).

23. Please tell us the game which you like most.
“Kingdom Hearts”. It’s a game which I would want to play over and over again.

24. Please tell us the movie which you like most.
The “Harry Potter” series. Even up till now it is the most fantastic movie ever.

25. Please tell us the music which you like most.
I like all the music composed by Nakata Yasutaka.

26. Please tell us your personal motto.
“When there is a will, there is a way”. I easily get negative thoughts, so whenever I feel sad or troubled, I will think of this phrase and get back on my feet.

27. Please tell us about any sporting experience that you have.
Even though I was part of the dance club in both Middle and High school, I don’t have much stamina!

28. Please tell us about the songs that you usually sing at karaoke.
I really like songs by Sakamoto Maaya, so I usually sing them! Also, I’m still singing songs that I have liked since my middle school days.

29. Please tell us about the foods that you like.
I like dried plums, matcha- flavored foods as well as mangoes.

30. Please tell us about the foods that you hate.
I don’t like traditional spices such as coriander.

31. Please tell us about a shop that you frequently shop from.
I really like cafes and will continue to look out for them! I also like cafeterias with set menus as well.

32. Do you have any favorite snacks?
I like plum and mint-flavored snacks.

33. Do you like to drink alcohol? If so, what are the varieties that you like?
I like drinking plum wine as well as sparkling sake! My recommendation would definitely be the plum wine “Otome Sour” and the sparkling sake “Mio”.

34. What did you do on your latest day off?
I was playing with my pet dog, watching anime and just lazing around… I’m the kind who likes to sleep so it was a really happy off-day for me.

35. If you had a weeklong break, what would you do?
I would go overseas!! I would go to England, America and Spain!

36. Is there a hobby that you’ve been hooked on lately?
I’ve been hooked on drinking tea lately, especially roasted rice tea and burdock tea.

37. Please tell us about your current qualifications.
I have a Type 1 teaching certificate in the Fine Arts for Middle School and Senior High School.

38. What are the things you would like to challenge yourself to do over the next 10 years?
I would like to go to new places and countries that I have never been to before! It would also be nice to try learning a new language for a while.

39. What type of men do you like?
Those that are kind and gentlemanly! I like glasses, so someone who looks good in glasses would be great too.

40. Which part of the opposite gender’s body catches your eyes the most?
Regardless of gender, I think people who have fair and smooth hands are amazing.

41. Out of the things that you have bought recently, please tell us the most expensive one.
A vacuum cleaner. I’m going to use it a lot from here out!

42. What do you want the most right now?
Bookshelves. I have a lot of books now so…

43. If you were stuck on a deserted island and could only bring one item along, what would it be?
Something that can start a fire. I will rely on myself to hunt for food!

44. If you could spend 1 million yen freely how would you spend it?
Save it! If that’s not allowed, I would use it to refurnish my parents’ house.

45. If you have a habit that you do every day, please tell us about it.
Listening to the radio. I’m the kind of person who loves listening to the radio.

46. Please say something for your fans.
Thank you for reading this interview all the way! You guys have been writing me fan letters and sending mail during the radio and your kind words never fail to cheer me up! I’m going to work hard in developing as a person and as a voice actor, so I look forward to working with everyone!

47. Do you remember your first meeting with the previous guest, Uchiyama Yumi?
It was at a “Sukitte Ii na yo” recording, ever since I first met her my impression of her was that she was really kind and funny and that being with her makes me feel really at ease! I’m glad I met her!

48. (A question from Uchiyama Yumi) Can you please tell me a simple dish which even I can cook? (laughs)
Salted Cabbage! Just take some fresh cabbage, chop it up, then drizzle it with sesame seed oil and some salt and you’re done! It’s so easy that even you should be able to make it! (laughs)

49. Please tell us about the other seiyuu that you are close to.
Yamaoka Yuri-chan, Hidaka Rina-chan, Toudo Mai-chan, Suzaki Aya-chan, Nitta Emi-chan, the members of Rhodanthe*and the cast of Strike the Blood and so on? ♪

50. Please mention one thing you would like to ask our next seiyuu guest.
(To Touyama Nao) What’s that one thing that you crave to eat the most now? (*゚▽゚*)Let’s go eat that together the next time!


With that, that marks the end of the interview! As per all my translations, I’ll appreciate and welcome any feedback (do point out any mistakes, please!).

Looks like the next seiyuu to be interviewed will be Touyama Nao (yes, Karen DESU!!), I really can’t wait to check out the interview when it comes out since Naobou’s one of my favorite seiyuus!

In the meantime, while we wait for the next interview to be released, we’ll try our best to translate the other 21 interviews. Up next, #1, Uchida Aya!

9 thoughts on “The Wheel of Seiyuu #22: 50 questions for Taneda Risa

  1. friendlycorn3

    THANK YOU! Your so nice and kind to share this kind of talent to us. Now I got to know more about my favorite seiyuu’s. I hope and pray that you can translate Yumi Uchiyama & Tanaka Manami interview too. I really want to know more about them. God bless and keep it up! :D

    Reply
  2. From_Philippines

    I’m your little fan from Philippines and I’m crying because I can no longer hear your voice as Erina Nakiri-sama. I hope you recover soon and back at work. I’m wishing you a happiness and success in life. I love your singing…and I’m happy if you back at your craft. You have a lots of Fan here…

    Reply

Leave a comment